I’m taking a personal snow day…

2 Feb

In spirit of the “snowpocalypse”, I decided to take a personal day so I did not have to brave the cold. As someone who is paying their own college tuition, I got to thinking just how much money I am wasting each time I skip class. I did a little research and found out that tuition for an in-state, full-time student is $6,577. I am taking only 12 credits this semester, so in order to figure out how much I have to pay per credit hour I took $6,577 and divided it by 12, which equals $548.08 per credit hour. The class today that I skipped is 3 credits, which means for the semester I am paying $1644.25 total for this class. It meets twice a week, for 14 weeks (excluding the week for spring break), so I took 1644.25 and divided it by 14, so I could get how much it costs weekly ($117.45) and then divided that number by 2, so I could get the cost of each class, which equals $58.72!!!

I don’t know about you, but 60 buckaroonies is a lot of money to be throwing away just because I wanted to take a personal snow day. Sure it may seem like not that much money to some people, but picture it this way. What if every time you went to class you had to hand over $60? Now it seems like a lot doesn’t it???

If you want to figure out how much money you (or your poor parents) are throwing away, use the steps below to try and figure it out!

In-state, full time students:
1) Starting Number: Tuition – $6,577
2) Divide that number by the amount of credits you are taking, to figure out how much each credit costs
3) Multiply that number by the amount of credits a class is (For example, if you skipped a 4 credit hour class, multiply the number in step 2 by the number 4)
4) Divide the number from step 3 by 14 (there are 14 weeks roughly in the semester)
5) Divide the number from step 4 by how many times the class meets weekly
6) Look at your final number, that’s how much money you’re wasting each time you skip!

If you are an out of state student, follow all the same steps as above, but have your starting number be $19,170. (I don’t even want to know how much money out of state people are losing!)

So next time you are thinking about skipping class, think about whether or not you would be willing to hand over $60 (or more!) in order to do so.

Bottom line: I have got to get my butt out of my warm bed and brave the cold.

2 Responses to “I’m taking a personal snow day…”

  1. winterblogging1 February 3, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    smart math. and funny bottom line.

  2. eightmileroad February 6, 2011 at 1:04 am #

    This is great, I have always thought about how much money I am not wasting by going to class everyday. As an out of state student who doesn’t get financial aid, and pays the full tuition, that has been enough pressure for me to get out of bed and trudge through the elements no matter how I feel to make sure I at least go to class.

Leave a Reply

